Dann Morr, songwriter and sideman, steps out with his debut album Shouting Into the Wind, a collection of indie rock gems that deftly incorporates the best parts of his long tenure in the Chicago music scene. Produced by Mike Hagler (OK Go, Wilco, Billy Bragg) and Morr, the 10-track album was recorded in Chicago at Kingsize Sound Labs and released on Squirrel Trap Records.

Since the 1990s Dann Morr has been a singer and multi-instrumentalist in the folk-rock group Wells-next-the-Sea, indie-rock/power-pop outfits Analog Radio, and High Energy Physics, as well as bassist and backing vocalist for a number of other Windy City artists including The Cheetles, Mooner, Kerosene Stars, Kevin Lee, Phil Angotti, and Tom Daily. “My original plan for this album was to find a home for orphan songs that had fallen by the wayside over the last few years… songs that were performed by my previous bands, but never properly recorded or never released,” Morr explains. “Although, once we started recording together, I was inspired to write some new material for this amazing line up of musicians- which we dubbed The Dashing Bastard Sideshow.”

Intricately woven guitar lines lounge atop a raucous rhythm section and each track covers distinct territory, from the power-pop crunch of “Jaded” to the rockabilly twang of “I Remember You”, with Morr moving from grit-throat rocker to sly crooner. The end result is that Shouting Into the Wind is an exploration of songs that show where Dann Morr comes from and where he is going.

The musicians on Shouting Into the Wind are:
Dann Morr – vocals, bass, electric & acoustic guitars, and piano
Larry Beers (Mucca Pazza, Nicholas Tremulis Orchestra) – drums and percussion
James Coffey (Bad Forum) – electric & acoustic guitars and vocals
Mike Hagler – synthesizer and organ
Lee Ketch (Mooner, High Energy Physics) – electric guitar and bass
Tom Slater (Thomas Pace) – piano, electric piano, organ, and vocals

On stage, Dann Morr, Larry Beers and Tom Slater are joined by guitarist Johnny Million (Convoy, The Millions) and guitarist/bassist Chuck King (dec8de). Other musical allies and occasional Sideshow members include Kristina Priceman (Dick Prall, Mike Mangione & The Union); Hannah Frank (Hannah Frank Group); Bill Pekara & Mike Medina (Cook County Soul Alliance); Lee Ketch & Steve Slagg (Mooner); and Kevin Lee (Kevin Lee & The Kings).


For more information, email dann@squirreltraprecords.com or call 773-225-7392